Madame Butterfly?

This rush hour is killing me. Hey, watch it buddy!

This rush hour is killing me. Hey, watch it buddy!

I know what a Monarch Butterfly looks like. Beyond that I could not tell you what the names are, where they come from, and where they go during the winter. I know they are very fragile creatures.

I did find out a few facts.Tennessee’s state butterfly is the Zebra Swallowtail. There are one hundred and thirty-seven species of butterflies in Tennessee. Most of which, I thought were moths.

I know the ones I came across up at Roaring River Park were beautiful. My family, friends and I were at the park in July of 2010 to have a picnic and swim in the river. We have been up there many times, but this was the first time we ever noticed the butterflies down on the sand. I suppose it was because there were so many of them. They were everywhere on the beach.

Move over fellas, I'm coming in.
Move over fellas, I’m coming in.   Source: My Minds Eye53

 Why do we havta walk?  We have wings ya know.  Ow, my feets hurt and dis sand is hot......
Why do we havta walk? We have wings ya know. Ow, my feets hurt and dis sand is hot……   Source: My Minds Eye53

Finding a parking space is getting harder and harder.
Finding a parking space is getting harder and harder.  Source: My Minds Eye53
I know there is a landing strip here somewhere.
I know there is a landing strip here somewhere.   Source: My Minds Eye53

 

We went back up there this summer but there were hardly any there. I don’t know why they were so thick that summer. They were friendly also. Once I get my studio built I want to do some paintings from my photographs. I don’t have the room now.

After looking all I had were questions. Are each of the species colored exactly alike? Can they cross-breed? Maybe I am the only one who thinks of these silly things. I could not find the answers. So I will just admire them when I chance upon them. Another thought popped into my head. Were they around when dinosaurs ruled the earth? All my life I have taken them for granted. A friend informed me that these are all kinds of  swallowtail butterflies.  I have seen Monarchs here in Tennessee but haven’t been able to photograph any.  I had taken many more photos but my computer crashed and I lost most of my two thousand and ten photos. Some of them were my butterfly pictures.  I am thankful to have these. A lesson learned, always back up to the external drive.

I hope if anything my mental meanderings have caused you to pause and wonder a few things yourself. Not just about butterflies, there are literally millions of things on this earth to wonder about. We lose that amazement when we grow up, I haven’t but I am not a normal person. Being an artist, photographer and writer, I look for amazement.

A Butterfly Poem

Butterfly so majestic

your realm so wide,

where do you come from,

where do you hide?

You are like a painting

God set on wings.

I wonder at times,

if you have a tiny voice that sings.

What makes your colors

so bright and clear?

From caterpillar to butterfly

is there anything you fear?

Oh to fly like you do

on nothing but a breeze.

Do you die,

when comes a freeze?

So many questions for you,

as you land on my knee.

The most mysterious one;

are you a he or a she?

Leave a Reply

