I Have Always Loved You

Google images

I have always loved you,

if you knew, you never said a word.

I kept those feelings at bay,

I never said, you never heard.

    It is strangely comfortable,

    wanting to keep a best friend.

    Never stepping out of that realm,

    safely hiding behind pretend.

        I am not ready to say it,

        you are not ready to hear.

        Someday, soon I hope,

        my dreams will be clear.

            I have always loved you,

            the very words seem to haunt.

            I hesitate to see the difference,

            between a need and a want.

Leave a Reply

