I wrote a song

I don’t normally write songs, I write poetry, some story telling, stories about photos I took or poetry about photos I took.  This came to me in a song in my head.  Country song.  I don’t write music but I could hear all the parts.  I don’t know how songwriters do what they do, but this is how it worked for me.  I hope you enjoy.

Rebound

Just last night he came over
said he’d found who he wanted to see.
He found his perfect lover
and that it wasn’t me.

He said “Darlin’ I love you,
but not in the way you need.
Please don’t you cry now,
you’ll find better than me.”

“Can’t we still be friends?
I know you’ll like her too.
Her name is Diana,
She’s a lot like you.”

I said, “We can do that,
but there is one thing about me.
I am not your kid sister.”
Then I plowed him with my knee.

I don’t want to be a rebound,
I need someone who’s gonna stay.
I don’t need someone’s reject.
I don’t want to be a throw away.

I’ll find myself a real man,
someone looking just for me.
Damn straight I’ll find someone better,
my one, my only….. my destiny.

Leave a Reply

